My Four Little Furballs

When I married my husband he had a fat furry baby named Bud. As much as I love to be his new mommy, he didn’t make me feel quite welcome into his life. I used to get a few scratches and bites on my legs and arms. Bud was a possessive cat and did not want to share daddy’s attention to anybody. A few months after, I decided to get a new kitty. We named her Atchee (a Filipino term for sneeze). She was very sick when we got her from the SPCA, so that’s how her name came about. Her nose was so stuffed up that she wouldn’t eat. I thought she wouldn’t survive but I nourished her back to health. Six years after swearing not to have anymore “babies”, we got McQueen- a friend’s whose daughter eventually developed allergy after a year and a half of owning him.  Who has the heart to deny this aloof yet good little “boy”.  I took him after a few negotiations with hubby. Bud and he never get along, there was always a competition between them. Besides, Bud was getting old and cranky and hated having a young and hyperactive kitty around. Despite of all these, we are one big happy family. They each have a spot on the bed. Bud sleeps on top of his daddy’s chest, Atchee on his lap.

At 17, Bud started loosing a lot of weight- from 25 lbs down to 10. It was painful to watch him suffer from old age, losing strength and always sick. After weeks of battling when to euthanize him, we realized it was time to let him go. It was the hardest decision we have to make. The night before we took him to the vet to put him to sleep, I was sitting on the bathroom floor weeping. I can’t bear the pain of loosing my boy. He then sat beside me trying to comfort me- as if telling me , “everything’s going to be okay mommy”.  I sobbed more. The next three days were gloomy and tearful.

Three months after Bud’s death along came Gizmo. In spite of swearing having two cats is enough, we somehow ended up adopting another. Yet, this time Gizmo chose us. One day, we visited a family friend (Gizmo’s previous mommy). Out of nowhere, Gizmo came up to hubby’s lap rubbing up against his tummy and purring as loud as I can remember. She would never let go. At that moment, we knew she was ours.

Bud’s last christmas

A not so old Bud. We miss you Buddy….

Atchee guarding the christmas tree. She’s my little cheese monster.

Bud napping with his little sister, Atchee

MacQueen in his holiday collar

My boys, Bud and Mac chilling out

Gizmo, my little polydactyl

Gizmo, showing off her extra toes. This was taken before she was declawed.

Our youngest sleepy head showing off her shaved tummy. This was a few weeks after she was spayed.

These four little monsters bring  joy to our lives.

One thought on “My Four Little Furballs

  1. Pingback: in holiday mode « Shahanifudge's Wear It With A Smile

Please leave your comment here. Thanks for droppin' by!

