countless blessings

November 24th, 2:00 PM, Collins Lake recreation area, Marysville, CA. It wasn’t a typical place to be on thanks giving day but, there I was in a cold rainy evening with family and friends in front of a campfire enjoying each others company, our little chat and our turkey dinner with a fusion of German and Filipino cuisine. Being in a calm, captivating place at that very moment with wonderful people was a lot to be grateful for.

What we focus on, we empower and enlarge. Good multiplies when focused upon. Negativity multiplies when focused upon. The choice is ours: Which do we want more of?

JULIA CAMERON, Blessings

 If we can only draw our focus away from things that we didn’t have, to what we have, it is when we realize the countless blessings that we have to be thankful for. Sure, the economy affected everybody. I have never known so many people who lost their jobs and homes my entire life until today. It is sad and terrifying. I know, because I was once one of those people. As a self- proclaimed worrywart I worry about almost anything. I sometimes spend sleepless nights worrying about the possibilities of not being able to maintain the lifestyle that I have- which by the way, the same as most average Americans have- somebody who works hard to pay her bills and being able to maintain and run a typical average household.

This is how I cope…maintaining my optimism. Let me tell you, sometimes it’s not that easy to do. There are times when I get scared about what could happen to our country- the economy might get worse. It is when I start taking a look of the things I own, the family and friends around me, and where I’m at (literally). Then I think about the pictures I see and reports I read or hear about many others who basically have nothing, lost everything or people in a war zone who are suffering. I always come to a realization that I am luckier than the estimated 1.7 billion people who are living in poverty today. By that, I mean, people who luck the basic human needs such as shelter, water, food, and clothing. I think about those who are living in chaos their entire life yet they still manage to wear smile on their faces.

I still have a roof over my head, clothing, food on the table, my health, and most importantly I am surrounded with people I love. Life itself is a gift. Your perception about life changes how you live and appreciate the simple things around you. There are indeed a lot of things to be thankful for. You don’t need to look for them; they’re just around you needed to be seen and appreciated.

Please leave your comment here. Thanks for droppin' by!

